The May South Swell Board Test

16 May 2017 4 Share

COASTALWATCH | BOARD TEST

Boards provided by Onboard Store 
Leggies: Premium One XT 6ft Ocean & Earth
Fins: Mick Fanning FCS II Medium
Video Track: Antiquiated by Regular Boys
Photos by Mark Onorati 

Autumn groundswells provide the perfect conditions for surfers on the east coast, and what better conditions to test out new boards. We teamed up with Onboard Store in Sydney to bring you three of their best models at the moment and see what the crew of very unique surfers in the office had to say about them. Check out their reviews and the gallery below.

BOARD #1: CHANNEL ISLANDS TWIN

DIMENSIONS OF THIS BOARD 5'9 / 30.7L 

NICK GREGORY

RATING: 7/10

It felt short, fast, fun. I liked the how easy it was to generate speed. Held rail quite well and responsive for a retro tin design. The board I tested was a bit too much foam for me and the waves I tested the board in weren’t ideal for a board of this nature.

HUGH WYLLIE

RATING: 8/10

A surprising amount of hold off the bottom with the usual release off the top. Perfect for highlining a nice long pointbreak and some cheeky wraps on the open face.

There was plenty of volume under the chest for easy paddling and sliding in early. Great down the line speed, especially on the high line.

There was a bit too much squirt to go completely top to bottom. This board surf’s a little flatter than your standard shorty but that’s to be expected.   

CORBIN NASH

RATING: 7/10

When I first got on the Twinny I was having a lot of fun as it’s something totally different to my usual board. It was quick and was holding the rail, but after a while it was sliding out from under me, especially when stalling.

BOARD #2: CHANNEL ISLANDS FEVER

DIMENSIONS OF THIS BOARD:
Board 1 was 5'11 / 27.9L
Board 2 was 6'1 / 31.5L 

DOUG LEES (board 2)

RATING: 5/10 

The volume of the board felt too thick and the tail had too much area for me in these conditions. It wasn't really as responsive as I would have liked. I think it was 32L where I would be 30 or 31L.

BEN MACARTNEY (board 1)

RATING: 7.8469/10

It felt like a good all round short board; very fast, easy to turn. It felt like it had higher than usual volume meant it was easy to catch waves. 

VAUGHAN BLAKEY (board 2)

RATING: 5/10

The board I rode felt like it had far too much volume for me. It surfed like a big board which is weird because my first custom when I was 14 was actually bigger.I haven’t ridden a standard thruster for a long time and I’d like to try a version of this design with less foam in it. It actually felt like it had potential but I struggled on this particular version of it.

CORBIN NASH (board 1)

RATING: 7.5/10

I found it really easy to generate speed from the Fever, but it was a bit resistant on top turns for me. This particular board was a bit larger than I’d usually ride and too pinny. If I were riding correct dimensions, it board would be fire. 

BOARD #3: CAMPBELL BROS. X CHANNEL ISLANDS BONZER SHELTER

DIMENSIONS OF THIS BOARD: 6'0 / 29.9

DOUG LEES

RATING: 8.5/1

This was a board that I really enjoyed riding. It had great speed down the line, and more responsive than I had imagined. The board held and actually increased speed through runs and especially cutbacks, but this speed also made me struggle to break the turn. The one thing I found that I'd have to accommodate more for was that in the cutback the board kept speed in the turn and I had could not bring the board around. (probably more a reflection of my skill than the board.)

VAUGHAN BLAKEY

RATING: 7.5/10

Given that we were surfing hollow closeouts and the board felt really great either high lining off a takeoff, coming off the bottom or holding line in the barrel.

Because I mostly ride such short (between 5’3 and 5’8), thick, flat boards, often twins, the knifeyness of less volume and a more narrow outline was a fresh feeling I enjoyed. The Bonzer didn’t feel anywhere near as flowy through turns but that was to be expected. Seems to me like down the line, clean faced, steep surf would be ideal for this board.  

Once you set rail and begin to turn, considering how you’re gonna ride out of that turn becomes pretty important because it would grab through the back half of a turn if you pushed too hard and you’d lose speed. But that’s based on the only two waves I managed to turn on.

Hugh on the Twin

Hugh on the Twin

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Doug on the Bonzer

Doug on the Bonzer

Ben on the Fever

Ben on the Fever

Corbin on the Twin

Corbin on the Twin

Corbin on the Twin

Corbin on the Twin

Vaughan on the Fever

Vaughan on the Fever

Hugh on the Fever

Hugh on the Fever

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Vaughan on the Bonzer

Nick Gregory the barrel hunter

Nick Gregory the barrel hunter

Tags: video , (create Alert from these tags)

blog comments powered by Disqus
More From Reviews
Sean Doherty: "The Guys at Narrabeen Really Set a Direction in My Life", Mark Richards in 1971

Sean Doherty: "The Guys at Narrabeen Really Set a Direction in My Life", Mark Richards in 1971

Another excerpt from the wonderful new book, Golden Days: The Best Years of Australian Surfing

5 5 Sep 2020
Sean Doherty: “Girls Can Be Grommets Too!”, Pam Burridge in 1979

Sean Doherty: “Girls Can Be Grommets Too!”, Pam Burridge in 1979

An excerpt from the wonderful new book, Golden Days: The Best Years of Australian Surfing

10 8 Aug 2020
Recent

Five Rides (And a Wipeout) From New South Wales Super Session

Pipeline comes to Australia's East Coast, featuring Paul Morgan, Laurie Towner, Matt Dunsmore and more

2 26 Jan 2021
Video: Connor O'Leary's Backhand Surfing Is Worth Hitting Replay For

Video: Connor O'Leary's Backhand Surfing Is Worth Hitting Replay For

1 25 Jan 2021
A Ripping New Rage Vid, Pete Mel's Stoke Is Everyone's Stoke, and Maverick's on Skis? What?

A Ripping New Rage Vid, Pete Mel's Stoke Is Everyone's Stoke, and Maverick's on Skis? What?

2 15 Jan 2021
RIP: Gordon James Philipson (1938-2021)

RIP: Gordon James Philipson (1938-2021)

3 14 Jan 2021
Photos and Highlights From the '21 Burleigh Single Fin Festival

Photos and Highlights From the '21 Burleigh Single Fin Festival

4 13 Jan 2021
Latest News

Five Rides (And a Wipeout) From New South Wales Super Session

Pipeline comes to Australia's East Coast, featuring Paul Morgan, Laurie Towner, Matt Dunsmore and more

A Ripping New Rage Vid, Pete Mel's Stoke Is Everyone's Stoke, and Maverick's on Skis? What?

This Week In Surfing: Ten Things from Surfing & the Internet on the Week That Was January 15 2021

RIP: Gordon James Philipson (1938-2021)

Long-serving and legendary stalwart of Australian and Queensland surfing passes away at 82

Popular This Week

Five Rides (And a Wipeout) From New South Wales Super Session

Pipeline comes to Australia's East Coast, featuring Paul Morgan, Laurie Towner, Matt Dunsmore and more

A Ripping New Rage Vid, Pete Mel's Stoke Is Everyone's Stoke, and Maverick's on Skis? What?

This Week In Surfing: Ten Things from Surfing & the Internet on the Week That Was January 15 2021

Padang Comes to Life as Late Season Swell hits Bali

Golden hour at perfect Padang Padang - it's been a good week to be in Bali... Photo: Childs

Go to Top